iStock-887313736.jpg

​Education System

Australia's education system was roughly inherited from the United Kingdom. It is under the jurisdiction of the state or territorial governments, and the federal government is responsible for supervision and management.  Quality education is therefore guaranteed to a certain extent, and the academic qualifications awarded are all internationally recognized. Australian colleges and universities are known for providing high-quality education. There are a variety of courses for students to choose from, including English courses, primary and secondary schools, university foundation courses, certificates, diplomas, bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. Students can choose from a variety of options when planning to study in Australia.

Elementary and Middle School

The Australian primary and secondary education curriculum is 12 years in length and runs from Year 1 to Year 12. The education system is divided into public and private schools. Middle schools are generally from Year 7 to Year 12.  In some states, Year 7 is the last year of elementary school. Years 11 to 12 are considered high school program, which is the preparatory stage for university. After completing high school, students will take the public examinations as set out in their region (except Queensland), and then progress to the first year of university. Different states and territories have different examination systems and scoring methods.

State/Territory Examination Systems

Victoria

New South Wales

Queensland

South Australia

Western Australia

Post-secondary Education

In addition to universities, Australia currently has more than 300 Technical and Further Education colleges (TAFE), private technical colleges and English centers, which provide students with English courses, basic courses, and a variety of practical and professional certificate and diploma programs. Giving  students alternative paths to further their education. 

University

There are nearly 43 universities in Australia that provide students with bachelor's, postgraduate diploma, master's and doctoral programs. Some universities also provide basic courses for overseas students, all of which are recognized by the Australian government. The Ministry of Education reviews the academic performance of each university every year to ensure that it maintains a certain level. Although Australia only has a history of more than 100 years, it has nurtured 15 Nobel Prize winners. Australia is home to the world famous "Group of  Eight" universities, so more and more students are choosing to study in Australia.

​教育制度

澳洲的教育體制大致承襲自英國。由各省政府自行管轄,而聯邦政府負責監察和管理,因此質素有一定保證,頒授的學歷皆為國際認可。澳洲院校以提供優質教育見稱,備有多種課程供學生選擇,包括英語課程、中小學、大學基礎課程、證書、文憑、學士、碩士及博士等,因此學生家長可選擇於不同的求學時期往澳洲升學。

 
 
中小學

澳洲中小學教育課程共12 年 (Year 1 - Year 12),分為公立及私立兩類學校。中學一般是第7 班至第12 班,部份洲份的第7 班為小學最後的一年。第11 至12 班為高中,是大學的預科課程,完成課程後,學生將參加其洲份的公開考試(昆士蘭省除外),繼而升讀大學一年級。而不同洲有不同的考試制度及計分方法。

各洲考試制度

維多利亞洲

新南威爾斯洲

昆士蘭洲

南澳洲

西澳洲

專上教育

除大學外,澳洲現時亦有 300 多所專科技術學院 (TAFE)、私立專科學院及英語中心,為學生提供英語課程、基礎課程及多類型實用而專業的證書及文憑課程,為學生升讀大學提供快捷的途徑。

 
 
大學

澳洲全國有近43所大學,為學生提供學士、深造文憑、碩士及博士課程,部份大學亦提供基礎課程予海外學生,全部皆獲澳洲政府認可。教育部每年均會審核各大學的學術表現,確保達到一定的水平。儘管澳洲只有百多年的歷史,但已培育15 位諾貝爾獎得主。澳洲擁有全球著名的『八大』大學,故此越來越多學生選擇到澳洲升學。